Who Scored The First Century In T20 Cricket?

Chris Gayle of West Indies became the first person to score a century in International T20 (twenty-twenty) Cricket when smashed 117 runs of 57 balls in a match played against South Africa on 11 September, 2007 at the New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (SA). 
Chris Gayle celebrating after hitting the first ever T20 Century
Brief match stats: Batting first, West Indies posted a mammoth total of 205 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in their 20 overs; thanks to some fine hitting from Chris Gayle and Devon Smith. 

The South Africans in their reply came out all guns blazing and with Hershelle Gibbs and Justin Kemp putting up fine performances with the bat, overhauled the West Indian total with as many as 14 balls to spare. Gibbs, who remained undefeated, top scored for South Africa with 90 runs off just 55 deliveries. Kemp too remained undefeated at 45 runs off just 22 deliveries. South Africa won the match by 8 wickets.