IPL Firsts - All You Ever Needed To Know

A List of IPL (Indian Premier League) firsts to turn you into a stats-guru.

Pepsi IPL Teams

First IPL Match : The First IPL match was played between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on April 18, 2008 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. The Match was won by KKR

First IPL Centurion: Brendon McCullum, playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, became the first IPL centurion when he scored 158 (off 72 balls) against Royal Challengers Bangalore on April 18, 2008 in the inaugural IPL Match.

First IPL Wicket Taker - Zaheer Khan, playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, became the first wicket taker in IPL history when he dismissed Sourav Ganguly of KKR in the inaugural IPL Match.

First player to hit a Four and a Six - The first four and the first six in IPL history were hit by Brendon McCullum of KKR (both off the bowling of Zaheer Khan)

The First IPL Over - The First over in IPL history was bowled by Praveen Kumar of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

First Batsman to face a delivery in IPL - Sourav Ganguly was on strike when the first delivery in IPL history was bowled by Praveen Kumar.

First player to win the Man of the Match Award in IPL history - Brendon McCullum, playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in the inaugural IPL Match.

First IPL Toss - Rahul Dravid, captaining Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural IPL Match, won the First IPL Toss.

First IPL Umpires - The inaugural IPL Match was officiated by Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and RE Koertzen (South Africa). Javagal Srinath was the first Match referee while Amiesh Saheba was the first TV Umpire.

First Player to take 5 or more wickets in an IPL Match - Sohail Tanvir, playing for Rajasthan Royals, became First Player to take 5 or more wickets in an IPL Match when he took 6/14 (4 overs) against the Chennai Super Kings on May 4, 2008

First IPL Finalists - The Final match of the first edition of the IPl was played between Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals on June 1, 2008 at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

First IPL Champions -  Rajasthan Royals became the first IPL champions when they defeated Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets. 

First player to win the Man of the Series Award in IPL history - Shane Watson (with 472 runs and 17 wickets) of Rajasthan Royals in the 2008 IPL edition. 

First IPL Match Featuring a "Super Over" - The Match played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals on April 23, 2009 was the first match in IPL history to feature a Super Over. 

Thanks for reading.